Annual Picnic

This Car in the enclosed Case was used on a Race Track at the Ruritan Club Picnics. Multiple cars were released down an inclined track. Bets were placed to see which car would be the winner.



This item came from the very First Ruitan Picnic that was held on the Dages Woods which now has the beautiful home of Joe and Glady Traylor along Hwy 50. The Summer Picnics were held there as a fund raiser for a few years and then they were held at St. Peters Church Grounds. The Annual Picnic was moved to the new Ruritan Community Building after its completion in 1976. The Annual Picnic was discontinued because of preparations for the Turkey Trot Festival which was just a couple months later in the year.



Flyers from the 1979 and 1980 Annual Picnic at the Montgomery Recreation Park.

The Annual Picnic was started about 1961 and was first held at the Dages Woods which is where Joe and Gladys Traylor now have their home. The Dages property was sold and after a couple years at that location it was moved to St. Peters School Grounds. In 1977 the Annual Picnic was moved to the new Ruritan Building and held there until it was the Annual Picnic was discontinued. The reason being was the Annual Picnic was too close to the Turkey Trot Festival which was held just a couple months later in the year and the leadership felt it was just too much to handle.



Montgomery Ruritan ANNUAL PIGNICAL OFFICE ANNUAL OFFICE OF

AND HOMECOMING

MONTGOMERY PARK

MONTGOMERY, INDIANA

SUNDAY, JULY 28, 1974

PRIZES TO BE GIVEN AWAY

FIRST PRIZE: \$250.00

SECOND PRIZE: \$100.00

THIRD PRIZE: \$50.00

QUEEN CROWNING CEREMONY AT 7:30 P. M.

CHICKEN DINNERS BINGO GAMES

TURKEY TROT WILL BE HELD SEPTEMBER 12 THRU 15

Annual Picnic in 1974

Shown here is a poster from the Annual Picnic from July 28, 1974. The picnic was moved to the Ruritan Park from St. Peter's Church Ground but not exactly sure what year this occurred. The Ruritan Bldg. was not completed till a few years later and it may have been that tents were used to hosts the picnic in the years preceding the completion of the building. You will note that at the bottom of the poster it was advertising the Annual Turkey Trot to be held in Sept. of that year.

We could not verify this but it is believed the Annual Picnic was discontinued because it was held just about 6 week prior to the Turkey Trot and it was just too much for the Club to handle with two major events so close together. The picnic was a nice event for the community but not the major fundraiser like the Turkey Trot. We have asked but were not able to fine what year the Annual Picnic was discontinued.

Shown Below is an Invitation Letter to Young Ladies who might be interested in becoming a Ruritan Queen Candidate. It was first started in 1968 with Gertrude Donahue was crowned the first Ruritan Queen. This letter is dated in June of 1980 and not sure when the last Contest was held.

MONTGOMERY RURITAN CLUB

Tuesday, June 10, 1980

Many traditions become a part of a community and none is more traditional in the Montgomery Community than the crowning of a new Ruritan Queen each year. On behalf of the Montgomery Ruritan Club, I would like to take this means to extend to you a cordial invitation to be a Ruritan Queen Candidate in our 1981 Ruritan Queen Contest. Maybe you find yourself flattered by such an invitation; perhaps your second thoughts are "Oh no, not me." But really, Why not?" Before you lay this letter aside, let me take a few moments to acquaint you with some of the past history of this event which dates back to the summer of 1968.

Gettrude (Donahue) Gibson was crowned our first Ruritan Queen. Since that year, the crown has been worn in successive years by Karla (Delaney) Miller in 1969; Donna (Murphy) Ryan in 1970; Karen (Hart) Olsen in 1971; Karen (O'Brian) Kane in 1972; Lisa (Nolan) Miller in 1973; Melinda (Hudson) Madden in 1974; Coleen (Wittmer) Swartzentruber in 1975; Barbie Hopkins in 1976; Georgia Dunn in 1977; Cindy Showalter in 1978; Doris Elliott in 1979; and our present Ruritan Queen is Kim Kidwell in 1980.

It has been through the efforts of these young ladies and the several others who have been candidates along with their families that the original park indebtedness was paid off and numerous other imporvements have been made to Make Montgomery Recreation Park the envy of neighboring communities. It is indeed a tribute to the unselfish giving by so many in support of Ruritan projects that has made many good things happen in the community. The residents of this community of all ages should be able to enjoy the fruits of these labors for years to come. I am sure you realize our annual queen crowning has been a major fund raising project for the park and community benefit. Do give the matter some thought before you commit yourself one way or the other. Through the years some have indicated a desire to be a candidate simply to help out in whatever way they could. For whatever reason, do give the matter every consideration.

The winning candidate will receive a \$100. savings bond, a dozen roses, a \$20.00 gift certificate and her name will be inscribed on a plaque at the park's shelter house. Second prize includes a \$50.00 savings bond while third place prize is a \$25.00 savings bond. All other candidates will receive \$15.00 cash. All candidates will receive a 5x7 color portrait and a free season ticket to the Daviess County Turkey Trot Festival in September. A free season pass to Indian Rock Lake Beach will be included to each candidate. Candidates and their parents will be the special guest of the Montgomery Ruritan Club at the Annual Ladies Night to be held in early July at the Jasper Heritage Inn.

If you have a desire to be a candidate, discuss the matter with your parents. I will be in touch with you some time within the week. If you have any questions regarding the details of the contest, contact me or someone who has served as a candidate in previous years.

For the Ruritan Committee on the 1981 Ruritan Queen Crowning, I am yours,

Charles A. Kavanaugh

William "Chris" O'Brian

Ruritan Queens Were:

1968 Gertrude (Donahue) Gibson 1975 Coleen (Wittmer) Swartzentruber

1969 Karla (Delaney) Miller1976 Barbie Hopkins1970 Donna (Murphy) Ryan1977 Georgia Dunn1971 Karen (Hart) Olsen1978 Cindy Showalter

1972 Karen (O'Brian) Kane 1979 Doris Elliott 1973 Lisa (Nolan) Miller 1980 Kim Kidwell

1974 Melinda (Hudson) Madden

At this time we are not sure when was the last year for the Ruritan Queen Contest, That is still being researched!